In light of recent events and campus policies regarding COVID-19. We are postponing the Staff Brewing Competition Tasting Event. See latest updates.

And the winners are ....

Beer Competititon Trophy

The 5th Annual Staff Brewing Competition at UC Davis featured 3 style categories of pale ales, sours and ciders. Teams were comprised of UC affiliates (staff, graduate students, faculty, and alumni). The winners of each category were announced at the tasting event, held on Friday, April 19, 2019 at the Walter A. Buehler Alumni Center.

This year's judging panels were comprised of Beer Judge Certification Program (BJCP) certified judges, non-BJCP certified judges, and industry professionals.

Best of Show & Judges' Choice Best Sour:
Here for Beer, Pineapple Guava Sour
Here for Beer, Pineapple Guava Sour

Here for Beer Team Members:

  • Jared Duncan,  Facilities Management
  • Ryan Duncan, Campus Recreation
  • Nicholas Harden, Utilities Division

People's Choice: 

Chris’ Angels: Wingin It
​​​​​​Chris’ Angels: Wingin It Pale Ale

​​​​​​Chris’ Angels Team Members:

  • Chris DiDio, Campus Planning & Environmental Stewardship
  • Priscilla Cordova, Dept. of Anthropology
  • Karen Kinser, BFTV Admin Cluster
  • Lina Layiktez, Conference and Event Services
Judges' Choice Pale Ales:
Beer Pressure: Drink It!
Beer Pressure: Drink It! Pale Ale

Beer Pressure Team Members:

  • Joe Schneider, School of Law
  • Eri Furukawa, School of Law
  • Carlos Barahona, Dept. of Environmental Science and Policy

Judges' Choice Ciders:

Hibiscus Bloom
Hibiscus Bloom: Cider

Hibiscus Bloom Team Members:

  • Jennifer Amaya, Student Housing and Dining Services
  • Melissa Chordas
  • Jeff Hays, Student Housing and Dining Services
  • Robert McMurry, Western Cooling Efficiency Center
  • Elliott Pollard, University Writing Program
  • Deziana Torres, Student Housing and Dining Services


Here For Beer: Captain Ahab’s Pale Wh-Ale Label
Here For Beer: Captain Ahab’s Pale Wh-Ale

Special thanks to the following judges and stewards for donating their time and expertise to judge our teams' beers. Also, thank you to Dunloe Brewing for allowing us to use their space for judging.

  • Cory Barton
  • Dwight Bradish
  • Calvin Crawford
  • Brennan Fleming
  • Jason Gilder
  • Gabriel Hernandez
  • Thomas Hughes
  • Scott Hackney
  • Cheryl Skare
  • Jeff Trask
  • Peter Wisham
  • Mike Witherow
  • Matthew Wutsch